Party Everyday

Party Everyday. Something we rarely do in our house. I love the idea of throwing parties but all the work involved is a turnoff.  When we lived in New York we had friends that threw a themed party every summer. We all dressed up and ate food that fit the theme. It was the event of the summer. I say ‘event of the summer’ because, well…we don’t get out much. We planned our costumes with anticipation and talked about it for months. Most of all, the kids had a blast! Our kids don’t remember much about our life in NY but they do remember those parties.

Once my hubby gets a job and we pay our house off, I love the idea of starting up this Summer Event tradition. As children get older it becomes more difficult to get them excited about family centered activities. I would even let my kids pick the theme if it means they want to be involved.

So, when I see the stamped siblings in my mail art, it reminds me of a family where the mom and dad just announced, “Let’s have some family bonding time.”

Related Mail Art Posts: ‘Party Like a Grandma’ Mail Art ; Harmony Mail Art

Artistic Outpost: Steampunk Mail Art ; I Am Roses inspired Mail Art

 

Creating Mail Art

Using an old envelope as a base, I covered the envelope with book paper. I used texture paste in the background with a Stencil Girl stencil. Tim Holtz chipboard pieces in the background have been covered in gesso and stamped. I used Tim Holtz and 7 Gypsies stamps as embellishments.

Products Used:




Challenges Entered:

Creative Artiste Challenge: #29 Anything Goes Mixed Media

Altered Eclectics: August Challenge

Frilly and Funkie: Read Any Good Books Lately?

Try it On Tuesday: Mail Art