Discovering New Things

‘One of the advantages of being disorderly is that one is constantly making new discoveries.’

While I love the concept of this quote, I don’t fall into this category. But I remember my best friend growing up embodied this quote perfectly. Her mom used to trick us into cleaning my friends bedroom before we were allowed to do something fun. Her mom later confessed that she knew I enjoyed cleaning and that the only time she could get my friend to clean her room was when I was over. When we would clean her room we would find money stashed between the bed, in random boxes and stuffed in envelopes. I always was amazed how each time we cleaned she found money. I would say, “Why doesn’t this ever happen to me? I want to find money.” Well, it was because I was organized and I knew where everything was in my room.

So, even though it may seem like being disorganized leads to random treasure hunts that turn up lost items, I still think that being organized costs you less in the end. No more disappointment that that $100 gift card is expired.

Creating The Journal Layout

For this layout, I continued with the steampunk theme. My base is a paper grocery bag that has been layered with book paper and gesso. I stenciled with texture paste in the background. My stamps are from Lost Coast Designs, Tim Holtz, PaperArtsy and & 7 Gypsies. My background is sprayed using Lindy’s Stamp Gang sprays (Cockle Bells Coral, French Lilac Violet).

Related Steampunk Journal Pages: The Distant Wanderer, Its All Perspective, Plate IX, Steampunk  Altered Book,

Products Used:



Challenges Entered:

Lindy’s Stamp Gang: August Challenge (Spray Links above)

Lost Coast Portal to Creativity: #39 Stenciled Background

Frilly and Funkie: Read Any Good Books Lately? (book paper)

SanDee & Amelie’s Steampunk Challenge: Special Steampunk Challenge

MMMC#39Badge

Mixed Media Monthly: Inspiration Photo (Pink & Purple Flowers)

Art Journal Journey: Poetry In Motion