History of Papyrus

For those of you who do not know what papyrus is it is a plant that grows in the wetlands of Egypt and throughout the Mediterranean region. The pith of the plant is sliced into pieces, soaked and then laid out to dry. Here is a great video if you are interested in viewing the process. When I was younger, I made papyrus paper  using newspaper sheets to achieve the woven paper effect.

My Papyrus Collection

If you are a blog follower, you probably have noticed that I have a love for ancient Egyptian art and culture. It started when I was younger, although I cannot pinpoint what triggered my interest. Growing up, the above papyrus, gifted by my grandparents from their recent trip to Egypt, hung in my parent’s house. I loved looking at it and dreamed of visiting Egypt someday myself.

Related: Ancient Egyptian Vibes Art Journal Layout & Egyptian Art Journal Page

All of these papyrus are part of my collection. The ones unframed are not on display but hopefully someday soon they will be.

The Egyptian relief below was gifted to me by my Grandmother. It was an item that she purchased on their trip to Egypt.

Lastly, just a small Egyptian bust that I have for decoration.

I know this kind of art is not everyone’s cup of tea but I guess that is what makes us all unique. Do you have any interesting cultural related collections? Or different collections in general? I would love to hear about them.

Related Products for Egyptian Enthusiasts

I thought it would be fun to share a few Egyptian related products over on Amazon that caught my fancy.

How cool is this…you can buy sheets of papyrus paper for crafting or to make your own paintings.

I just love this Papyrus. I may have to add it to my collection.

Isn’t this the coolest shower curtain?
Or this amazing reproduction Cleopatra Chaise
This chair would be a show stopper in my living room 😉

