Eternal Love

The hubby and I don’t really celebrate Valentine’s Day as we believe we should show love all year round. Not that I don’t like flowers and candy, but I really don’t want to support the industry that commercializes every holiday.So, I thought I would share the story of how the hubby and I met. My freshman year in college I had twin friends that lived on my floor that were also in the nursing program with me. They had a friend that was in the same group as my hubby. This mutual friend knew that he needed a date for Artist Series so they asked me if I would be open to going on a blind date. Artist Series was a series of concerts throughout our semester in college where performing artist would come and put on a show. Every one would have to dress in formal wear to attend.

My future hubby wanted to meet before the actual date so we went to dinner with the group four days before before the concert. The next day I started to develop cellulitis in one of my eyelids. I went to dinner with the group again that night but tried to hide my eye behind my hair. The next evening we were to attend dinner and a soccer game but my eye was so huge it was swollen shut. Thankfully I was able to get a powerful antibiotic that day which gave me a full 24 hours before Artist Series to heal.

By the time Artist Series rolled around, my eye was mostly better. And that was the beginning of our beautiful friendship, swollen eyelid and all. He continued to ask me to dinner and games. Four months later he officially ‘asked me out.’ We dated for four years before we got married and had a long distance relationship for one of those years while I completed my last year of Nursing school.

This year we will be celebrating 12 year of marriage. Not every moment has been full of love and passion but I am learning to be a better wife and I have seen my Hubby become a better man. I certainly was blessed to go to college and come away with not only a degree but an amazing man.

So, here’s to Eternal Love and Friendship.

Creating the Layout

Well, here is the very last layout in my junk art journal. I am relieved to finally have this completed.

For this layout, I covered the pages with gesso, layered paper scraps, dripped paint, stamped and layered my table scraps.

Other Junk Journal Layouts:

Will Winter Never End

Isn’t She Beautiful

The Ornamental Swan

You Are Special

Stars in My Eye

Through The Yellow Spectacles

Also, a happy tea day to all my friends playing along with Elizabeth.

Kate

Challenges Entered:

Simon Say Stamp Wednesday: It Must Be Love

The Artistic Stamper: Roses Are Red (Red Dress)

More Mixed Media Challenge: Anything Goes (Optional Red)

Frilly & Funkie: All You Need is Love