My Little Tree

I thought I would share my tree since the theme of this post is trees. We got this pretty Balsam Fir the day after Thanksgiving. I wanted to have a full month to enjoy my Christmas decor. Unfortunately, the needles are already starting to fall and it is looking a bit crispy up close.

At the end of last year, I made this tree skirt for under my tree. I based it off of a picture of a Anthropology tree skirt.  You can see my tutorial HERE. I am loving the way it looks under my tree. My kids put their Lego train around the tree but the pompoms on my tree skirt were interfering with their Lego track. They weren’t very happy about that so we bought more track to make it larger to extend past the tree skirt. Now I can see all of my tree skirt and my boys have their Lego train.

Making Tag #10

Inspiration

l am on a roll! Only 2 tags left to go for me. I am playing along with the 12 Tags of Christmas over at The Funkie Junkie sponsered by The Funkie Junkie Boutique. You can see Linda’s #10 tag HERE. While my tag looks nothing like Linda’s I did draw inspiration from her tag. I loved her rows of stenciled tinsel and the greenery from the wreath.

The Background

Since I didn’t have any stencils that looked remotely similar to tinsel, I used rows of stars. Definitely festive. I used PaperArtsy Infusions in the background and then daubed on some green ink before embossing some script in white. I made a wreath out of fake greens but in the end I remembered this really beautiful PaperArtsy Jofy stamp that I never used. Not my typical style but I love it! I want a real tree that looks like this 😉 I stamped the tree and then painted it using Distress Makers.

I am playing along with Elizabeth for Tea Day. Thank you for joining me today.

Challenges Entered:

12 Tags of Christmas #10 Tag: The Funkie Junkie

Stamp and Stencils: It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas

More Mixed Media Challenge: Anything Goes

Simon Says: Gift It

Simon Says: Christmas/Winter Holidays

We Love 2 Create: Anything Mixed Media