Escape To The Country

Have you ever seen that TV series ‘Escape to the Country?” It is basically the UK version of HGTV’s House Hunters. I just love the unique homes with their rustic charm, the English country side and the amazing accents. The only thing disappointing about this show is the unrealistic budget that most of these couples have. I mean, crazy high budgets.

So, when my hubby and I moved to the country from a busy suburban area it was culture shock. At least for this city girl.We searched the countryside for our little escape a year later after our house sold. My original criteria was: 3-4 bedroom house, master suite, two car garage, a few acres to raise farm animals, a mountain view, and most importantly not in a development. I told our realtor that I didn’t want to have neighbors…haha. We looked for months and couldn’t find anything. We found our little escape a couple months before our daughter was born. While it didn’t meet all my criteria it met all of my husbands, much to his delight. I didn’t get my multiple acres of farmland and a lack of neighbors, but I did get a 3 bedroom house with an amazing master suite, 1 acre surrounded on 3 sides by woods (which hides our neighbors in the summer and gives us a mountain view in the winter), huge windows that let the light in and a porch that goes from the front of the house to the back. Sometimes we feel as though we are at a vacation house in the mountains and I am so thankful that I get to live in my vacation house all year round.

So, this was a bit of the inspiration behind this page.

Creating the Journal Page

All Good Things Must Come To An End

Here is the very last layout in my Asiatic Dynasty Fabric Art Journal. (sad face) I had so much fun creating this little book but because I never do anything without the bulk, I had to limit the amount of pages. Maybe I should be calling this book the Big Fat Fabric Journal instead.

The Process

My page is kraft paper sewn onto a fabric base. I used a fancy stitch on my quilting machine. I like fancy better than a plain straight stitch. There is a Stencil Girl Stencil in the background, several die cuts, chipboard and Lynne Perrella stamps from PaperArtsy. I combined some of her other collections along with her Asian collection for this page.

More Fabric Journal Pages

Asiatic Dynasty Journal Cover And a Layout

It’s All In the Hair

Swimming Through Algae

Up In a Purple Haze

I Dream of Ice Cream

Challenges Entered:

Mixed Media World: #29 Anything Goes

Stamps and Stencils: Metallics (Foiled Tree)

 

 

