My Princess

Speaking of princesses, here is a picture of my little princess.

I can’t believe it but my baby is almost 20 months. She is quite the walker and loves playing with play food food. Mainly, forks, spoons and milk glasses. As you can see, behind her in the picture is her talking picnic basket. She carries it everywhere! I even know the songs by heart.

In this picture she is wearing a dress I made her. I found a pattern company that makes vintage inspired children’s clothing. The patterns are stunning! Right after my sweetie was born, I went on a binge and bought a lot of patterns and fabric. Just what I need. Not only do I have a craft area overflowing with mixed media supplies but also a large bin full of yarn and two bins full of fabric. Much to my husband’s dismay!

Maybe it is just me but I rarely find little girl dresses in the store that I like. They all look like they just came off the runway or are made from grandma’s old tablecloth. I have never been a fan of trendy or dingy. I am a classic girl all around. In the days after she was born, I dreamt of a closet full of pretty floral dresses trimmed in vintage lace. Unrealistic to say the least. I just pulled out the patterns a few weeks ago. Unfortunately, it takes me a week or so to make a dress because I don’t have much uninterrupted time.  But, I will keep dreaming and sewing at a snails pace.

Creating the Mixed Media Index Art

I thought I would try my hand at index art again. I like the size as it is not too small and not too large. The backing is chipboard under a index card. I applied old book paper and then layered a piece of card stock that I had covered in texture paste using my favorite stencil. I wrapped twigs in coffee stained muslin and black thread and placed it atop gauze and fibers with a few chipboard circles. The photograph of the tribal woman is framed by coffee stained book paper and liquid pearls squiggles.

Challenges Entered:

Aall and Create ITAC ’17- Challenge 3 Oceania #itac17 #itac17challenge3 #aallandcreate (Symbols, Earth Tones,Wood, Fibers, Circular Shape)

Creative Artiste: Anything Goes

 

