Ice Cream or Froyo?

First off, I want to thank everyone who took the time to write encouraging words on my last post. I am still feeling a bit apprehensive about returning to work but I know that I am not alone and am trying to look at it as a exciting new adventure in my life! I guess that calls for a celebration of ice cream/foyo when I make it through my first day.

Can I hear it for Frozen Yogurt?! I don’t know if the froyo craze has made it to your hometown but it sure has where we live. Our little town recently welcomed Sweet Frog with open arms. I love that you can fill your own cup, pick you own flavors, toppings and that they charge by weight. In fact, a few weeks ago we all celebrated the end of summer with frozen yogurt. When we got to the checkout counter we all put our cups on the scale. I pulled out my $10 dollar bill and the girl tells me the total for 4 cups of frozen yogurt comes to…$18. Ummm, what? Apparently, my youngest son decided to go overboard and loaded up his cup with lots of yogurt and yummy, heavy toppings. The total for his cup alone was $7. Needless to say, he will have careful supervision at the yogurt machines from now on.

Are you a Frozen yogurt or a ice cream person?

 

Creating the Journal Page

Inspiration

My inspiration for this journal layout was a European woman traveling to Asia. I added the adorable bowl and chopsticks and thought about titling the page ‘Rice Dreams’ but I didn’t have stickers to fit that title so I went with Ice Cream dreams instead.

More Pages

Only one more Layout to go in my ‘Asiatic Dynasty‘ Fabric Journal. If you follow my blog you know that this is a Asian themed Fabric Journal originally made for PaperArtsy. You can view the other pages as follows:

Asiatic Dynasty Fabric Journal Cover

It’s All In the Hair

Swimming Through Algae

Up In a Purple Haze

The Process

My background is kraft paper sewn to a fabric page base. I applied gesso, Fresco Finish paints and used my favorite Stencil Girl stencil. The background embellishments are painted with gesso and I doodled with a black pen. Most of my stamps are Lynne Perrella’s by PaperArtsy and some of the Asian Stamps are by Hero Arts.

I think that pretty well sums it up.

Thank you for stopping! And let me know if you prefer ice cream or froyo. And of course…let me know your favorite flavors and toppings.

Kate

Challenges Entered:

Scrapki-Wyzwaniowo: Journey

Mixed Media Monthly: #40 Vintage

A Inky Mess: Challenge 13

More Mixed Media: Anything Goes, optional Brown

Craft Stamper:Anything Goes

Simon Says: Stamptember Stamp It

 

