Tags

It’s All In the Hair

While looking at the stamped image on my journal page, I was reminded of Hair. This Asian girl has fabulous, silky spiked hair. My hair is anything but fabulous. When that humidity hits, my hair looks like someone held a balloon to my head and rubbed all the ‘fly-aways.’ By ‘fly-aways I mean those short, 1 inch pieces that won’t stay down despite using every hair product available with the exception of Krazy Glue. I know it is probably a girl- thing or maybe just a me- thing but I sit in church and look at the backs of peoples heads and wonder how their hair looks so smooth and frizz-less at 9:30 on a Sunday morning in the heat of summer.

To be honest, I am lazy when it comes to hair care. I hate wasting precious time on  hair. I would rather be reading, crafting or eating…none of which I can do while washing, blow drying or curling my hair. And to top it off I wash my hair only twice a week! I have considered trying the ‘No Poo’ method to limit my chemicals use and to save time and money. Have any of you every tried this?

What is your hair-care routine?

Creating the Journal Page

This layout is part of my new Fabric Art Journal entitled, “Asiatic Dynasty” featuring Lynne Perrella’s Asian stamp collection from PaperArtsy.  You can see the cover, my first layout and read about the inspiration behind the project HERE. You can view my second layout HERE.

In the previous posts I talk a little more about how I made the pages but for the basics I used Kraft paper as my base. I then added my gesso, paints, stenciling, embellishments and stamping. Lastly, my page was stitched onto a fabric page and added to my fabric Journal.

Fun and easy! Have you ever attempted a fabric book/Journal? I would love to see it. Leave a link in the comments so I can check it out!

Kate

 

Challenges Entered:

13 Arts: Abstract Art

The Artistic Stamper: August Anything Goes

Creative Artiste: Anything Goes #29

Altered Eclectics: Anything Goes

