The Journey of Motherhood

I haven’t taken a lot of amazing journeys in my short life but by far the most memorable one has been mothering. I have had so many unbelievably, happy moments surrounded by the little people that I  treasure most. The giggles and miss-pronounced words have always been a favorite of mine. And who doesn’t love those first steps and the knowledge that you have the power to make everything better. Just a kiss and a snuggle in mommy or daddy’s arms and everything is right in the world again.

And then there are the days that I am convinced I could not have birthed such miserable and selfish little monsters. From the constant bickering to the endless whining I want to go shut myself up in the bathroom and lock the door. But then, they are calling out from the other side, banging on the door as though the Borg are right there, only seconds away from assimilating them. But thankfully, these days are few and far between and always give me a reason to enjoy the happier days.

This quote is perfect for everyone because we all should be learning as we travel through life. And that is why I chose it for this journal page.

Creating the Journal Page

When I started this page, the inspiration was this Lynne Perrella stamp from PaperArtsy. I love how the journey is illustrated by the horse and carriage on her hat. I painted her using Distress Markers and then added some highlights using a pen. I usually stamp with my favorite ink pad but the image never seems bold enough so I enjoy adding a little bit of doodling to make the image pop.

My background has been embossed using a stencil and of course I have added leftover paper strips, gesso and stamping.

My husband recently bought a wallet and the kraft packaging ending up being the perfect background for my stamped image. I finished off with some stamped flowers, also from PaperArtsy, beads and a sentiment.

More Journal Pages From This Art Journal:

Home Is Where the Heart Is

You Need To Embrace the Little Things

Steampunked On the Road

 

Products used:





Challenges Entered:

Simon Says: Use Patterned Paper

mixedmediachallenge

STAMPlorations: June Mixed Media Challenge (Stenciling)

Love to Create: Challenge 12 Anything Creative/Mixed Media Goes

Creative Artiste: Challenge 27 Anything Mixed Media Goes

Try It Tuesday: Letters or Numbers (Letters)

Mixed Media World: Challenge #26 Anything Mixed Media Goes

 

 

