20170523_150749

String Of Pearls

Newest Hobby

Recently, I have found a new hobby (hubby calls them obsessions). Houseplants. I mentioned in a previous post that my husband calls me the ‘Plant Hospice’ so this new hobby may be a bit surprising.

I love this book, The New Bohemians: Cool and Collected Homes that I recently read. In this book, houseplants are used liberally as pieces of decor, which I found to be interesting especially since I haven’t had much success at keeping indoor plants alive. Outdoor plants is a entirely different story.

Related: You can read my book review HERE

Watering plants and reading the signs of what they need seems to be a art form, one of which I am slowly acquainting myself with. Last month, I visited a local green house to buy fruits and vegetables for my outdoor garden.

While I was there the selection of indoor plants especially succulents was amazing. I figure, succulents are the hardest plant to kill because they are extremely drought tolerant so why not give it a go?

20170523_150806

Aloe Vera

 

Basil

20170523_150522

Purple Waffle

 

20170523_150453

Yucca

20170523_150051

Various Succulents

Succulent

20170523_150222Plant Hospice?

As of right now, all my indoor plants are still living and a few are thriving. But a few of my succulents have started to shrivel up, turn yellow and have a hint of crispiness (under watering?). I feel like no matter what, I can’t win. I cut back on the watering so I don’t over water and I end up under watering them. One of these days I will hopefully get the hang of this houseplant thing before they all die.

Do you have any tips on keeping your houseplants alive?

