TeaL7.1

New Adventures

Life continues to be crazy, much like my thoughts at the moment. My little boys finish up school today and move on to the next grade. It seems like a few days ago the school year started and I watched them wave from the bus window as they started another new adventure. My, how life gets away from you.

Speaking of new adventures, my little one has finally ventured into the world of walking. She seems way to short to be standing upright and I have to laugh at her zombie-like posture as she maneuvers very slowly around the house. I never want to forget these new adventures that my kids take but I know inevitably they will be replaced by new ones and it will be difficult to recall the old.

To see how I made the layout, keep reading.

 

TeaL7.2

Creating the Mixed Media Art Journal Layout

I enjoyed using some bright color inks in this layout along with one of my favorite Lynne Perrella stamp sets. The little bit of baker’s twine coming out of the tea cup is meant to mimic rising steam. Mostly, I layered the background with a ton of paper scraps before adding gesso, paints and splatters.

TeaL7.3

Tea Inspiration

Don’t you just love that tea cup in her bonnet? I bet there is really a hat out there like this that someone wears around. Even though I love tea, I don’t think I could bring myself to wear this particular hat in public. Let’s face it, the sarcastic remarks would be endless. Now, a hat with antlers or a stuffed squirrel would be a whole different story. Not only would I be able to pull that off,  I might even start a trend. One never knows what to expect from the backwoods of rural Pennsylvania.

Would you wear a hat like this?



Divine Twine Baker's Twine — Cherry
Ranger Ink Tim Holtz Distress Paint - Black SootChallenges Entered:

Altered Book Lover: ‘T’ is for Tea Cup

Mixed Media World– Anything Mixed Media with a Twist

Stamps and Stencils– Fabrics and Fibres

A Inky Mess: #11 Mixed Media

More Mixed Media Challenge– Anything Mixed Media goes ‘Optional Pink’

 

