TeaL6.1

You & Me = The Perfect Blend

This sentiment describes my friends  to a ‘T’. We are the perfect balance for each other. What one of them lacks I make up for and vice versa. I have not lived many places in my life but with each place I have lived I made a friend for life.

Growing up, I met my best friend at church. She was home schooled and I was not. She was always the rational one and I was the risk taker (as risky as you can get without being a actual risk taker). She would always listen as I babbled and plotted mischief. As we got older she became a bit bolder and started scheming on her own. We would dream about our lives together as we got older and joked about being ‘Sisters’ in the convent (even though we aren’t Catholic). To this day, she is one of the smartest people I know and has a huge heart!

Moving to New York as a newly wed I didn’t know a soul except for my husband. This crazy woman in our church with a little girl of her own was determined to make friends with me. She would invite me to do ‘something’ with her and then took me to the laundry mat where I would sit in her hot car and watch her 2 year old sleep while she changed the laundry in the machines. We would drive all around town and back because she didn’t plan out her route before leaving the house. A few times we got caught in a bad section of town full of shady looking individuals because she was too busy talking to me instead of focusing on where she was going. Despite her impromptu take on life, she is the most giving and genuine person I have ever met. I know without a doubt that she always has a listening ear and plenty of honest advice.

At the time, I would never have chosen to spend my free-time gallivanting about town on fruitless errands because I am an organized individual. But those hours of ‘wasted’ time were not a waste because those were the moments that bonded us together for life. I love being reminded of the blessings that a good, healthy friendship can provide.

Mixed media Art Journal Layout

Some layouts take a while to meet expectations and this layout was no exception. I struggled to find the right focal image and embellishments. After a while of playing around I settled on the above layout leaving a lot of the background texture exposed. I couldn’t bare to see it all covered up.

I used gel medium and a stencil to create background texture along with paints, stamping and paper scraps.

Tea Inspiration

I like the focal image on this layout because it reminds me of one of my friends that always shared a cup of tea with me. She is the same age as my parents but since my parents were not in the area she became a mother-like figure to me. We spent hours drinking tea and crafting together. She always provided words of wisdom over those cups of tea. Oh, how I miss my friends! I think I could fill a tea cup with tears when if think of all the wonderful times we have had. I am praying that at this present place in my life that God sends me another one of these life-long friends. I don’t know who she is but I am waiting and ready with my tea pot!

If you don’t have this ‘Tea for Two’ Stamp set, go get it! It is elegant, versatile and so cute!





Challenges Entered:

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge: A Bit of Sparkle

Love To Create: #10 Anything Creative/ Mixed Media

Mixed Media World: Anything Mixed Media Goes with a Twist

