TeaL4.1

These Days are Worth It…Snot and All

Art journaling can be very fulfilling especially when looking back at completed journals. Flipping through previously made layouts and still finding them enjoyable gives me a sense of accomplishment. I would love to say that everything I have ever put my hand to has turned into a work of art…but as we all know that is far from true. These days I find it difficult to get myself into the right frame of mind to create. With a little person consuming my daylight hours I find myself mentally exhausted by the time I am ‘free to play.’ But I wouldn’t have it any other way. Thinking back to the years that I prayed fervently for another baby only to have one taken away is a ever present reminder of my many blessings, particularly the three that call me “Mommy.” So, when I get a little discouraged that the things that I want to accomplish in life are on hold, I think back to the blessings and grief that I have experienced. I try to make the most of my play time, knowing that the day will come when I wish I was back in this moment wiping her runny nose, cuddling her fevered little body and sitting on the hard floor till my butt becomes pins and needles because she wants me to sit RIGHT next to her. These are the days to cherish and remember. In a way, I need to “Keep Calm and Put the Kettle On.”

Mixed Media Art Journal Layout

The background colors in this mixed media journal layout remind me of a globe, mostly because of the blues and greens. These tend to be the colors that I frequently come back too most in my art work. Something about those cool tones draw me in. What are your favorite colors to work with and why?

TeaL4.2

Tea Inspiration

I am not really sure what beverage the individual in this photograph is holding or if there is even anything in her cup at all but since I am interpreting this photo I think she IS holding a hot cup of her favorite, fragrant tea! Probably the same tea that is in my cup at the moment. I have been drinking this tea for years ever since I found it in my local supermarket. It is amazing in a cup of hot tea or brewed in Kombucha tea.

If you try it, let me know. I would love to hear your opinion.



Challenges Entered:

That’s Crafty: Bright

Craft Stamper: Take It Make It: May

Welove2Create: Challenge 9 Anything Creative/ Mixed Media Goes

MMMC#36Badge

The Mixed Media Monthly Challenge: Put a Stamp on It

Crafty Creations: #340 Anything Goes

 

