image

   I am finally getting around to posting this project. I can’t believe May is almost over. Plus, we have had days of rain which makes for bad picture taking. Since the IAR challenge requires purple or teal I decided to use both. The theme needs to include Mother’s Day. I chose a blank journal to alter. I call it my ‘Mother’s Journal’. I plan to use it as a place to write memories, and keep picture or memorabilia from my boys. Just a book to write down all my mommy moments. It was fun to make something for myself. Something to help me celebrate being a mommy.

image

   I started out by painting the journal lilac. I layered a coat of crackle medium and then a layer of ivory paint. I then sprayed over the journal with lilac, teal and brown glimmer sprays. I heated it until all the paint bubbled. I then added some texture paste to the corners and stamped into it using my new TH wallpaper stamp. I painted over it with several coats of paint and and added some turquoise over the raised areas as a highlight. I have always wanted to try this technique. I think its a keeper. To decorate the front I used a dollar frame from Target and added some gesso. All the flowers and skeleton leaves are from I Am Roses, sprayed with lilac, teal and brown.

image

image

   I would also like to enter this journal in the My Monthly Mojo challenge. The theme is floral frenzy. I thought this journal would be perfect with all the pretty flowers. My inspiration for this journal came from all the gorgeous journals that I have seen on Pin interest. One of them in particular had a photo in the center. I don’t usually scrap with photos of myself but I decided to go all out on this journal, especially since it is for me. It put me out of my comfort zone but I am pleased to have such a pretty book to write in.

image

    Here is the inside cover I decorated with a picture of my little men.

image

   Lastly, I’ll leave you with this quote I found about mothers. I loved it, so I made space for it on my first page.

image

  It says: The heart of a mother is a deep abyss at the bottom of which you will always find forgiveness. – Honore de Balzac

   I used the following flowers from IAR:
R40-77
R21-635
S10-15
ZQP23-151
D1-15

Thank you for visiting and making it to the bottom of my longer than normal post.
Kate

Other challenges entered:
Inspiration Emporium-May Flowers