Tags

image

Today I was able to complete a project that has been sitting on my shelf half finished. Previously, I covered the cigar box with vintage newsprint bags and Tim Holtz paper. I left it there for about 7 months.
The other day I pulled it out and decided to work on a shadow box that I knew would put me out of my comfort zone. I love dimention but it is not really my thing. I used gesso and a baby blue to cover up some of the paper along with some Lindy’s sprays to add drippage.

image

The inside cover of the box has a image by French Kissed . The little girl is beautiful and I love the subtle colors added to her hat and flowers. I gave her some grungeboard wings sprayed with  Lindy’s Stamp Gang. Vintage lace has also been sprayed and added below the image.

image

The box has a lot more detail. I took some TH paper and stitched it to burlap. More vintage lace is layered and sprayed in several colors of Lindy’s. I made a small shadow box from TH paper. I covered the sides in TH tissue tape. On the inside I layered some punch out borders which have been sprayed and machine stitched together. On top I added a TH fragment doll. Stamped butterfly wings and bling accent the doll. The bottom of the box has sprayed gauze, a vintage girl with flowers, grungeboard flourishes and TH pinecone flowers. I used a TH bottle which was inked in green, rock candied, and an embellished bottle cap. Another grunge flourish and pinecone flowers are attached to the top left side to add some visual interest.
I am entering this box in the challenge over at  My Monthly Mojo. The theme is vintage vibes. I was inspired by the many amazing artist out there that make beautiful shadow boxes and shrines. I love vintage and cannot get enough of it. I love when I complete a piece of art that is better than anything else I have ever made. I love learning and growing. That is one reason I love challenges. They give me a reason to get out of my box and just create for fun.
Well, I want to thank you all for your kind comments as of late and wish you an inspiring evening.
Kate

Challenges entered:
Lindy’s Link Party
Gingersnap Creations – border punches
Simon Says Stamp and Show
Sunday Stamper- Misty

